Book Reviews

The Winter King by C.L Wilson 

Wow! I’m so happy that I was able to come across this book when I did. I was just adding books to my to-read list while also searching for a good book to read that night. The book cover grabbed my attention right away and that plot had me hooked. Not wanting to buy the book and be disappointed, I downloaded the sample. Well I was definitely not disappointed!

First, quick summary: 10485751

Khamsin Coruscate, Princess of Summerlea and summoner of Storms is shun by her father, King Verdan IV of Summerlea, because Khamisin’s birth caused her mothers death. Locked away and raised by her maid ,Tildi, Khamsin’s only friend is her brother Falcon who she looks up to. Falcon is soon sent on a mission to negotiate treaties with the King of Wintercraig and Khamsin is left alone.

Wynter Atrialan, King of Wintercraig, had welcomed Falcon, Heir of Summerlea , into his land. However, Falcon was on a secret mission to steal the Book of Riddles and find Roland’s legendary Sword. After giving chase to Falcon, Wynter comes back with his brothers death and the knowledge of Wynter’s fiance’s betrayal. Enraged, he takes the power of the cursed Ice Heart and seeks destruction of Summerlea. He asks King Verdan for that that has been taken away from him; a bride and a heir.

Khamsin now finds herself in the hands of the Winter King as his bride. She must find her own home within her enemies and give him a heir within a year or she could face the mountains mercy. Meanwhile, the Ice Heart is consuming Wynter and the only way to thrall the ice is something he might not be capable of: Love.

bloodrose

Every aspect of this book was amazing; the world building, the characters, the plot twits, and the detailed writing. I haven’t been this hooked on a book since I’ve read the Elemental Assassin series. I love that Khamsin was able to stay humble and determined despite the many times her father has hurt her physically and mentally. I especially love her because of the strong weather power she possesses. She reminds me of storm from X-Men. They’re both strong independent women and both have that awesome power. Storm was always my favorite from X-Men because of this so of course I would love Khamsin.

Now Wynter…*swoon* such a hottie! He’s a strong willed alpha who takes what he wants. He has been deeply hurt because of his brothers death and fiances betrayal. His character makes him look cold but he’s just afraid to show vulnerability. He cares deeply for his people and will do anything to protect those he loves. I liked that despite the negative things Valik was saying he still believed in Khamsin. Their love story was like a grown up version of a fairy tale. Khamsin was secluded from her family then she was married of to the enemy King. They fall in love with each other and save their people. Sounds like a fairy tale right?

As a result, my rating for this book was a 5/5. I really enjoyed this book and recommend it to everyone who wants a good action love story with a hot alpha male and a strong wiled woman.

View all my goodreads reviews

❀ The Dirty Book Worm 

Leave a Reply

