Book Reviews

Red The Were Hunter by Rebekah R. Ganiere

It’s been a while since I’ve read a retelling of a classic folklore. I usually come across retelling’s of beauty and the beast but I’ve never encountered a red riding hood one. So because it’s been a while since I’ve read a good werewolf book, I decided to give this one a try. This book was in my recommendations on Goodreads.

51aRmC5WUPL._SY346_.jpgRedlynn is part of the Sisterhood of Red. They’re in charge of protecting the folks of Volkzene from werewolf attacks. For the last couple of weeks there’s been a series of werewolf attacks and abductions of Sisters. Unable to stand back any longer, Redlynn defies Lilith’s order and seeks vengeance on the werewolf king. Shortly after entering the woods, she gets attacked by a couple of werewolf’s but is soon saved by the handsome Adrian. He takes her back to his home and tends to her. Adrian has finally found the one from the prophecy but he can’t tell Red the truth about who he really is yet. Not all is as it seems and that is what Redlynn will soon figure out. Redlynn will have to decide for herself if maybe the werewolf’s weren’t the bad people she was taught to fear. 

Wow! This book raised above my expectations! I really enjoyed both of the main characters in this book. Redlynn is stubborn and fiery. She stands up for what she believes and will fight for those  she cares. She doesn’t take orders from others easily like she should but will remain quiet as to not spark an argument. Now Adrian, I liked that he wasn’t portrayed as this overly possessive alpha. Yes, he was a little possessive of Redlynn in the sense that he didn’t want any other guy to have her but it wasn’t overly done. He’s a very kind and head strong man that will do anything to protect his people and loved ones. He doesn’t want a mate and doesn’t believe in the prophecy because of what happened between his parents.

My only complaint for this book was the sex scene. Yes, the sex scene. I was really expecting something “magical” but it was just your “he laid on top of me and we made love” type of scene. WHAT!!?? I wanted details! Come on! This was classified as adult paranormal romance but there was nothing of this sort. BUT the book did manage to grab the reader from the start and submerge them into the story like if they were there. I like the whole concept of this series. You have about four different stories each with their prophecy. The world building was fantastic. I could easily picture where Redlynn lived, the forest, and Adrians castle, as well as the wastelands.  I really appreciate a book with a good mystery and action going on. This book definitely had it. I can’t wait to go and finish the rest of this series!

I totally recommend this book to anyone that likes folklore retelling, sweet alpha males, stubborn heroines, and a happily ever after.

Happy reading!

View all my goodreads reviews

❀ The Dirty Book Worm 

Leave a Reply

